Sayn Castle was first of all merely a castellan’s house: in the second half of the 15th century, the barons of Reiffenberg had built it underneath Sayn Castle as a noble estate. It was only in 1757 that the palace began to be developed, a multiple-winged, Baroque complex, which was changed over to a Neo-Gothic style from 1848. For this, a certain François Joseph Girard entered into service as a planner - later he was the chief architect of the Louvre Museum. However, the Second World War demolished the entire core of the building; Sayn Palace was irretrievably destroyed, right down to the crumbling stonework. With the help of funds from the state, the Palace was restored by the princely house between 1995 and 2000.
Sayn Palace is part of the Sayn Culture Park. Here, visitors can experience a variety of sights together with the castle building. The Butterfly Gardens, iron casting house “Sayner Hütte” and a climbing forest are only some of the attractions waiting to be discovered.
Schloss Straße 100